Written by Kenneth Teape (@teapester725)


Wednesday, July 9th, 2014

Atlanta Braves vs. New York Mets

Post Game Recap


Winning Pitcher: Dillon Gee (4-1, 2.56 ERA)

Losing Pitcher: Ervin Santana (7-6, 4.01 ERA)

Save: Jenrry Mejia (9, 3.98 ERA)


The Mets were able to continue their winning streak Wednesday night with another victory over the division rival Braves, by the score of 4-1. It is the longest Mets win streak in almost a year, as they hadn’t won four straight games in 361 days.

Like the first two games in the series, the Mets were able to take this game behind a strong start from their starting pitcher. Tonight it was Dillon Gee, who was making his return from the DL after missing about two months of action.

Gee picked up right where he left off, tossing seven-plus strong innings, allowing six hits and one walk that turned into one run, while striking out four. Gee was on a strict pitches limit, but made the most of it as he pitched into the eighth inning, but was unable to record an out.

Gee was staked to an early lead as Lucas Duda singled home Daniel Murphy in the first inning, and he never looked back. The Braves were able to tie the game in the sixth inning when B.J. Upton doubled to deep center, but that threat was thwarted as he was thrown out at third trying to extend the double.

The Mets offense picked Gee up in the next inning, punctuated by a three-run homer from catcher Travis d’Arnaud. d’Arnaud planted a hanging slider into the left field seats, giving the Mets a 4-1 lead the bullpen was able to hold onto. Before that, Kirk Nieuwenhuis had a sac fly to score David Wright as the Mets manufactured runs efficiently.

For the Braves, Upton and his brother Justin gave the Mets the most trouble tonight. B.J. knocked in the lone Braves run on the night, while Justin recorded another two hits. New Jersey native Tommy La Stella recorded two hits of his own as well.

The Mets and Braves will play the finale of their four-game series Thursday night, as the Mets will look to sweep. Bartolo Colon (8-7, 4.04 ERA) will take the mound for the Amazins’ and will be opposed by Aaron Harang (8-6, 3.67) for the Braves.